Almost Midnight

Author: Paul Doiron

Warden Investigator Mike Bowditch already has a troubling mystery on his hands: finding the archer who mortally wounded Maine’s only wild wolf. Then he learns his best friend, Billy Cronk, has been released from prison after heroically defending a female guard from a stabbing. Mike comes to believe the assault was orchestrated by a wider criminal conspiracy. When the conspirators pursue Billy’s wife and children to a “safe” cabin in the woods, Mike rushes to their defense only to find himself outnumbered, outgunned ― and maybe out of options.

Almost Midnight (Mike Bowditch, #10)

Booklist:

Fans of outdoors procedurals, like those by William Kent Krueger or C. J. Box, will be delighted to get to know the consistently strong Mike Bowditch series, now in its tenth installment.

Library Journal:

In this tenth book featuring Bowditch (after Stay Hidden), Doiron takes disparate elements of his protagonist's past and weaves them in a tight line, ramping up the tension slowly until the story reaches can't-put-it-down velocity.

Library Journal:

Doiron writes with eloquence, authority, and passion about Maine’s wilderness and its creatures. The twin story lines intrigue...The conclusion is an emotionally satisfying, adrenaline-fueled sprint. Fans of C.J. Box will find much to admire.

The Real Book Spy:

From game warden to his recent promotion to warden investigator, Paul Doiron has brilliantly developed his protagonist over the course of nine previous books. Readers have followed Bowditch’s career path, romantic relationships, and plenty of family drama, but here, with his tenth book, Doiron puts his star character up against a danger unlike anything he’s ever encountered. The cherry on top is Doiron’s ability to continue mixing smart plots with vibrant descriptions that help transport readers into the Maine wilderness, where they’ll stand shoulder-to-shoulder with Mike, feeling every ounce of heart-thumping suspense along the way. Fast-paced and filled with a number of solid twists that’ll keep readers turning pages well into the night, Paul Doiron’s Almost Midnight is some of his best work to date, and his thrillers remain mandatory reading for fans of C.J. Box, William Kent Krueger, and Craig Johnson.